A Few Things I have Done.

Need help from a fellow owner, something to air - discuss away!

Moderator: Contaminated

Wingco

A Few Things I have Done.

Postby Wingco » Sun Feb 16, 2020 2:35 pm

As everyone knows I'm not that good with cars but I will service it and change brakes etc but that's about it. Now with Rich and Steve and many others who go full into there cars and complete change, strip and rebuild I am very impressed with how and what you do, i also enjoy how you get round things and problem solving you all do, plus the knowledge on here is second to none.
I am have not taken any pictures due to it being boring so here goes.
On my last MOT back last year at Snodhurst i was told by Kelly that i needed to look at the chassis, it seems the powder coating as come away and I have a lot of rust forming near mounting points.
So after some chats with various people and help from Tony T I gave it a go.
So first to get the car high enough to able me to get underneath it, luck I have a neighbour who works in the heavy haulage and got me some 8 x 8 x 36 inches long bits of wood, stacked these up and sat the car on top, the car is 28 inches of the floor, this allows me to work under the car on a trolley with plenty of room.
So next job was to drill out all the pop rivets of the p clips that held brake linings in place, then to drill all the rivets out that help the side panels on, they wrap around under the car, this was a long and boring job, then disconnect the brake linings that went through the side panels so this will allow me to move the side panels a little bit more to reveal more of the chassis, if you know what i mean.
Now to remove the old powder coating on the top chassis rails was ok it was the lower chassis that was bad.